Happy Hari King of Myrrh

As much as love sweet things, I have always had a soft spot for myrrh which like coffee, has a kind of delicious bitterness. The smell of myrrh is sophisticated and balsamic-resinous in addition to being aromatically bitter. It’s gorgeous but in an era of Pink Sugar may not appeal to everyone.

So I was quite surprised when I lit up a stick of Happy Hari King of Myrrh to find that this austere resin had been married to a high quality cinnamon! Unusual and innovative, this blend is not for those seeking a straight myrrh incense. Rather I would recommend it to those who love cinnamon as the grade used here is top notch and having it paired with myrrh is particularly unique.

The cinnamon in King of Myrrh is rich and plush, having that distinctive spicy coolness and total lack of barky/woody notes– hallmarks of the finest cinnamon varieties. It mixes beautifully with the fragrantly bitter myrrh. There are also some floral notes in this which are hard to identify individually but add a unique flavor. If you’re looking for a surprising cinnamon, this is a must try.

Happy Hari King of Myrrh Incense starts at around $4 for a packet of 4 to 5 sticks. You can buy Happy Hari world wide from the Happi Hari website or Etsy  store. US buyers can also buy from Absolute Bliss Incense.

This entry was posted in Happy Hari, incense, India, myrrh. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Hari King of Myrrh

  1. Thanks for the “glowing” review again lesley and cinnamon eh? I’m really pleased you identified that for me as I get a lot of people asking for a cinnamon incense. Perhaps I should rename it King of Cinn haha

    Like

  2. Terra Renee says:

    Mmmm. Will definitely have to try this one.Been waiting 11 days for my Essence of the Ages order to ship. Anyone else having slow shipping issues with the site? I wonder if Beth is okay. She always got my orders out within 2 days before.

    Anyway, thanks to Corey at Absolute Bliss for letting me know about my package. I visit my PO BOX once a week, and since I’d already checked it Monday, I didn’t check it again. I’ll be picking up my Queen of Lotus and Nepal Musk tomorrow. I can’t wait to try Happy Hari’s Lotus and the Nepal Musk. I’ve heard good things about Nepal Musk. Will let you know how it smells. I’d offer to send you some sticks, but it’s only 12 per pack. It they aren’t my cup of tea, however, will definitely try and trade some.

    Just realllly wanting my EotA order right now. I am eager for my new Shroffs and Pure-Incense to arrive, especially Blue Lotus since I ran out, and Nila Amber since it looks amazing.

    Like

    • Terra Renee says:

      Ahhh, I retract my comment about EotA. Something is wrong with my email and I’m not getting any updates. Thankfully, after contacting Beth, she gave me the slap in the face I needed (this is a good thing) and made me realize it’s not her fault at all, just Yahoo’s fault. My main email address is tc49pz@yahoo.com if anyone wants to contact me at an address I’ll check daily. Might not get your message though. It’s been acting odd.

      Like

      • Glad it was just Yahoo acting up (gurl why are you not on Gmail?).

        Like

        • Terra Renee says:

          I play World of Warcraft, and that’s been my account email for 11 years. Yes, I’m that dedicated to a video game. I’ve even already pre-purchased the special edition Legion expansion!!! Demon hunters, yah!

          Like

          • If you like blue lotus you may like Nepal musk.Blue lotus was the divine holy drink of Egyptian Atonism 3,500 years ago(the first recorded monotheistic religion).They also offered the blue lotus to God(the Aten).Apparently no one knows how this ecstasy type drink was prepared but apparently the flowers were aged in a sealed jar then soaked in alcohol for a few days.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Terra Renee says:

              I just picked up my pack of Queen of Lotus and Nepal Musk today! Thank you, again! Even though the muskiness isn’t strong, it’s still an amazing scent. I have a nice review written up for it, but it basically boils down to feeling like you’re outside in a wet, mossy forest surrounded by a mystical creamy scent. I can’t identify what the creamy smell in Nepal Musk is, but I’m guessing maybe vanilla? Halmaddi? It has a definite halmaddi smell, like Mother’s Nag Champa.

              Also, the free samples? WOW! The Silver Sandalwood is something spectacular. I wish I had ordered a full 12 pack of that. I’m slowly burning the single stick until I get a chance to order more!

              Liked by 1 person

              • It is a shame that u.k.and American suppliers are different. I ordered a lovely box from essence of the ages.Absolutely wonderful,however with international postage and government import payments it becomes awfully expensive,so I am seething with envy at your silver sandalwood as I love sandalwood!

                I do so agree with you on similarity with Mothers.
                There is vanilla in the base of all Primo(and all madhavas,Primo,Blue pearl,Jivada,Pure incense,Pure perfume oils).They all have vanilla and sandalwood base which is absolutely scrummy,however the base quality varies and as you go up,the vanilla base becomes less prominent but purer and more ‘singing’,and also the pure scent of Nepal musk,or any scent you buy,becomes stronger,more dominant and more resonant as the quality goes up,i find.
                I adore Nepal musk,similar is Blue lotus,Pink sayli,Violet,parijata,Hari Leela,Magnolia.
                I would say blue lotus,pink sayli,Hari leela are especially exceptional and magical.

                Liked by 1 person

              • You make Nepal musk sound so enticing! It’s on my want list now

                Like

                • coreytopel says:

                  I would love that!

                  Like

                • coreytopel says:

                  I would love to get an order from you Leslie. I have a few special samples that will not be added until the end of March that are a must try!

                  Like

                • Nepal Musk,Blue lotus,Hari Leela,Pink sayli all have that violet/turquoise essence.
                  Even Primo is good to get a taste but better is best.
                  I am in a forest at midnight,the moon is huge through the trees.I can smell damp earth and flashes of flickering purple light shimmers off the distant waters.Blue hills on a distant skyline.
                  Nepal Musk is entry to the midnight world.It is said that at full moon at midnight in the exact centre of the woods is entry to the other dimension where the laws of the ordinary world begin to melt and the communion with the magical worlds begin.
                  Blue lotus.A sacred plant I ancient Egypt.The first monotheistic religion in history,the first worship of one God was Atenism.3,500 years ago.This was where the blue lotus was offered to the God with fruit and incense,to consume or bless as he wished.
                  The Blue lotus was then aged for 10 days in a sealed pot.Then soaked in fine wine for 3 days.Now the blue lotus was ready for worship and to bring the feeling of the Aten into ourselves.Sitting in the peace and beauty of nature,Gods creation for us,untouched by man,we drink and pass round the divine nectar.And soon we know the joy and love of the Aten,back to out real selves.
                  Apparently blue lotus is similar to mdma,(exctacy).

                  Like

Leave a Reply

