Shanthimalai Nag Champa (red box)

Satya Sai Baba Nag Champa (it’s the one that comes in the classic blue box) is in a miserable state. It seems like everyone complains about a dizzying dive in quality and general lackluster scent. However, there are other nag champas out there and Shanthimalai Nag Champa, which comes in a red box, is often cited as a good alternative.

Unfortunately, I can’t say that I like it very much. It has a odd chalky tone that is quite pronounced but is otherwise short on fragrance. I can detect some gestures in a floral direction but they are washed out and overwhelmed by the chalk. Very odd. As the fragrance is so faint I wonder if I may have a bad box.

A big disappointment.

Shanthimalai Nag Champa is widely available. Prices start around $1.50 for a 15 gram box.

This entry was posted in incense, India, nag champa, Shanthimalai. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shanthimalai Nag Champa (red box)

  1. Terra Renee says:

    I don’t think you have a bad box. That was a perfect description of the red Shanthi Nag Champa. I have an almost-full box, and can confirm that it is quite awful. I know there are people who love it out there, from all the NEW rave reviews on Amazon, but I will never be one of them. I burned two sticks and got a huge headache. Hopefully people will read your review and try a small box before buying a larger box, like I did. To be fair, it was only $4, but still. I could have bought some treats for my dog instead!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

