Unkown Maker Jasmine and Sandalwood from China

I’ve been curious about Chinese incense but haven’t been able to try any yet since no one really seems to stock it. Mysterious, since it seems like you can get just about anything from China… At any rate,  when I placed an order with Incense On the Way, I noticed they had a small selection of Chinese incense, one of the few in stock being a packet of sticks listed simply as “Jasmine and Sandalwood” with no maker mentioned. Since it was “HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!” in the description and only $2.95, I figured I’d give it a try.

Jasmine and Sandalwood is mostly a dry wood base  with a touch of sweetness and hints of sandalwood and jasmine floating in and out. The sandalwood is much easier to detect than the jasmine. It has a soft vanillic tone but is only mildly sweet. The jasmine is very very delicate and present only as the slightest floral lilt. It’s there however, if you look hard enough.

Overall, this simple and subtle combination is quite nice. However, because I prefer incenses that are more heavily scented I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing.

One interesting note…. the sticks for Jasmine and Sandalwood are super long and thin. I was worried that the scent of the bamboo splint might come though but it doesn’t.

You can get Jasmine and Sandalwood only at Incense On the Way. A packet of 32 long sticks costs $2.95.

This entry was posted in China, incense, sandalwood, Unkown Maker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unkown Maker Jasmine and Sandalwood from China

  1. Terra Renee says:

    I did try this one awhile ago. I found some in a box with my other infrequently used incense, and I must admit I did enjoy this blend. The light-scented observation is definitely true. For such a light-scented incense, the smoke is a little much, but not overwhelming like some of Nature Nature’s blends.

    If you haven’t tried Nature Nature, I recommend it. It’s so good that even Katlyn from MermadeArts loves it. However, the charcoal sensitivity might be an issue. IncenseGuru sells small sample packs with only 5 sticks, each a different type, in case you want to try it but don’t want to buy a whole pack only for it to go to waste in case you dislike it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve got a feeling I’d have the same reaction to Nature Nature that I do with Fred Soll since it looks like a charcoal punk that’s been covered in resin. I’m so bummed about Fred Soll that I’m hesitant to try another charcoal sitck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

